~ Giant of A Man


~ Giant of a Man
A dream took me to childhood places

Love and laughter, forgotten faces
But the memory of Father standing tall

While leaning against the kitchen wall

Woke me with great surprise 

Tears of mourning, laughter filled my eyes
Recalling his polished black Oxford shoes

His black leather belt trimmed in blues

Tiny feet from a girl aged four

Danced with Daddy across the floor
While standing on his Oxford shoes

And holding his belt of black and blues

Looking up I said, “Daddy you’re a giant man”

And he tossed me as only a Daddy can
Up, up towards the ceiling I went

Four or five times til his energy spent

But I’ll never forget that fun filled day

Of giggles, laughter and Daddy at play
I was fifty-five when Daddy passed on –

He was still catching me, when life had gone wrong.
O’Prunty

12/3/16

Copyright Applies

Leave a comment

Filed under Family Poetry, Poetry

Leave a Reply

