~ Addiction Speaks Volumes


~ Addiction Speaks Volumes
A Personification

Allow me to introduce myself,
I’m called “Addition”
I come in many shapes and sizes
Am a respector of none

I lie, cheat, steal
To feed my habbit
My demon,
I rip through families
Like a whirlwind
Scattering the remnants:
In my wake…
Broken hearts
Lives devastated
And I see it not
So blind to human emotion
I do not see nor feel the pain caused
The suffering of the innocent

I’m your worst NIGHTMARE
The darkest vortex
As I drag one after another down
With me
Making them numb to reality

Yes, I sneak in
When least expected
With words of manipulation
I maneuver my loved ones
Seek pity
They are nothing compared
To the demon I must feed

When I cannot find my “friend”
The one of choice,
Anger surges through blood and vein
I lash out one minute
The next I’m teary eyed
I am unstable
Unreliable
Set on an emotional
Roller coaster ride
Some do not survive my power
Some do

The strong CAN survive me
Kick me to the curb
It’s a new wave
Called Intervention!
But, I fight with all my might
To hold them tight

Wrap around them as…

A long lost lover

They can’t get enough of

I’m just that way
Me, my name,  “Addiction”.

O’Prunty ©

10/30/15

Leave a comment

Filed under Family Poetry, Freeverse, Humanity Poetry, Poetry

Leave a Reply

