~ America ~


~ America ~

I am the voice of your people;
Your modern day peasantry
Jobless, homeless, hungry
I am the farmer with fallow fields
My product imported
The coal miner, a diamond in the rough
With empty hands
The seamstress lost as a needle
In the proverbial haystack
With hands longing to stitch
In red, white and blue
The waitress, waiter serving privileged people
On meager wages
Your secretary in black in darkness
Waiting between the lines
Your welder with fire in my veins
Trying to make sense of the pieces remaining
Your construction worker
With blank blueprints
Your iron worker
Attempting to hammer out an existence

I am the voice of your people;
Your modern day peasantry
Jobless, homeless, hungry
I am your Veteran
Trapped in your red tape tug-of-wars
Your elderly senior citizens
Still giving more then received
Your disabled
Deprived of believable healthcare
The signal parent
Holding a dream in my heart
The student
Wishing upon a fading star
The child
Crying to be heard

I am the voice of your people;
Your modern day peasantry
Jobless, homeless, hungry
Lend me your ear
Devoid am I of special interest tactics
Devoid am I of rhetoric
Devoid am I of manipulation
Devoid am I of party participation
But I am your people;
The backbone, rib cage
Of this great country
Your living infrastructure!
The grease that turns the wheel!
Flattened, deflated by powerful people
In powerful places
Hell bent on keeping me that way!

O’Prunty
1/16/15

This ones “for the people”.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family Poetry, Humanity Poetry, Poetry, Prose Poetry, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

