~ Today, I’ll Be Free ~


~ Today, I’ll Be Free ~

Today, I’ll be free
Toss these bags of garbage
In a pit of possibility

These barrels of tears
In a river of revival
Watch as they rush to the sea

Today, I’ll be free

Time, of no importance
Destination to chance
And I’ll romance the day
In a capricious, whimsical way:

“Never again to give so much of myself
That I loose my identity, my happiness,
My personal goals, my right to love and be loved
For the sake of others, who selfishly
Took of me, til my cup was empty”

No, today, I’ll be free
And the whole world lays before me
With the open arms of acceptance

Just watch me forget to remember
This straight jacket of responsibility
That nearly drained the life of me

No, today, I’ll be free – forever me!

O’Prunty
12/27/14

3 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Prose Poetry, Uncategorized

3 responses to “~ Today, I’ll Be Free ~

  1. Excellent encouragement. Thanks for posting. 😊

  2. sethstephens52

    Awesome job! I loved this!

  3. sethstephens52

    Reblogged this on Plain and simple and commented:
    I found this to be a very refreshing piece of poetry. I’d describe it as uplifting and hopeful. Hope you enjoy, and by the way, you should follow O’Prunty.

Leave a Reply

