~ Sister! Oh Sister! ~


~ Sister! Oh Sister! ~

If tears could resurrect
Sister! Oh sister!
What a paean of joy
Would burst through
My very soul,
Resounding throughout
The valley below!

My eyes no longer
Behold your beauty
My ears
The tenderness
In your voice
Severed are we
Throughout eternity

Long, warm tears
Have watered
The flowers
Blooming on your grave
Cold, the stone
Lips have kissed goodbye
Yet does not satisfy

If tears could resurrect
As the seed, the bud, the bloom
Sister! Oh Sister!
Want a paean of joy
Would burst through
My very soul,
Resounding throughout
The valley below!

O’Prunty
11/27/14

In loving memory of my sister, Louanna; 1958 – 2006…Holidays Are The Hardest, The Most Difficult Time To Keep The Pain, The Loss At Bay.

6 Comments

Filed under Family Poetry, Poetry, Prose Poetry, Uncategorized

6 responses to “~ Sister! Oh Sister! ~

  1. This is so touching! You mind if I share it?

  2. The feeling of such loss leaves an infillable hole in our hearts. God bless you.

    • Thank you. And yes, the loss is ever before me. Some days, a near panic sits in my soul, my very being – she was the best and only true friend I ever had; for that I am thankful.

  3. Pingback: The Other Side Of Siblings | Poetry Connoisseur

Leave a Reply

